Eqilibre

taiji quan & nei gong




"Quiet as the mountain, moving like the river and the river"

Stacks Image 1038

taiji quan
Taiji quan [tai chi chuan] (1) belongs to the big family of Chinese martial arts, and more precisely to the current known as "internal school of the fist" (nei jia quan), of Taoist inspiration. The expression taiji quan is commonly translated as "fist - or boxing - (quan) of the ridge (ji) supreme (tai)", in reference to the ridge beam of the house, symbol of the first principle, universal and omnipresent in Taoism . In the same spirit, one can also translate the expression by "fist of the supreme polarity", the notion of "pole", place of this supreme polarity, referring to the instant where yin and yang are still united.

Far from the simple "soft gymnastics" unfortunately sometimes taught in both the West and China, taiji quan is one of the richest and most powerful martial arts, in that it favors the use of vital breath qi [ chi], in relation to the muscular force li, which is in some way subordinate to it. And to properly direct and use the qi, the practitioner will appeal to the intention yi. Thus, by the harmonious use of these three components, qi, li and yi, taiji quan is a complete art of life:
calligraphietaiji

• It is an excellent exercise that can be practiced at all ages, as it gently and effectively solves the whole body - muscles and joints - develops vital energy, reduces stress through the work of relaxation that it requires, soothes and clarifies the mind by the concentration it implies.
• It is a non-violent, non-aggressive martial art, in harmony with natural laws. Focusing on vital energy rather than muscle, it is effective regardless of age and physical strength.
• The application of taiji quan principles in relational life helps to defuse most conflicts by responding appropriately to verbal and psychological aggression.
• For those who wish, taiji quan can take the form of a spiritual path, based on the teachings of the great Taoist masters such as Lao Zi and Zhuang Zi.

The most common form of taiji quan is performed with bare hands. It is a question of linking a number - variable according to the schools - of codified movements of attack and defense.
Parallel to the execution of this routine, the practitioner exercises at work with partner (tests, martial applications, ...), as well as the handling of traditional weapons such as the saber, the sword, or the spear.

A little history
The Yang (2) style taught in our school was created by Yang Luchan (1799 -1872), a formidable fighter, nicknamed "the invincible".
After his death, his art was transmitted from generation to generation within the Yang family. At first limited to the members of the family and to a few selected disciples, the teaching gradually became more and more simplified. Thus, alongside the traditional art of Yang Luchan and his heirs, we find different styles today, of very variable qualities.

The education provided in our school is faithful to the traditional style preserved within the Yang family. It is rooted in the practice of great masters of the lineage, including Yang Shao Hou (1862-1930), Zheng Manqing [Cheng Manching] (1902-1975) and Huang Xingxian [Huang Sheng Shyan] (1910-1992). Today, this teaching is broadcast around the world by master (Sifu) Adam Mizner.

lignée hme
From left to right: Zheng Manqing, Huang Xingxian et Adam Mizner. (DR / HME)


Our teaching
We teach the traditional style of the Yang family. We distinguish :

The nei gong
Under this very general term are grouped a whole series of works on internal energy. They are inseparable from the learning of taiji quan. We practice :
• warm-up exercises (ji ben gong) and relaxation (song shen wu fa),
• work on postures (zhan zhuang) and energy (qi gong).

The taiji quan
We practice :
• a slow sequence with bare hands of 37 movements,
• the handling of thesaber and the sword,
• exercises with partners: linking (da lu), "sticky hands" or "pushing hands" (tui shou), efficiency tests and martial applications.

Your teachers meet regularly for the purpose of mutual enrichment, and participate each year in international seminars, thus ensuring the sustainability of an authentic taiji quan.




1: There are several ways to transcribe Chinese characters. We adopt the pinyin romanization system (we give you tonic accents), which is the most "official" and most widespread nowadays. The most common older transcriptions are shown in square brackets [].
2: "Yang" is here a family name (also widely used in China), which has nothing to do with the concepts of yin and yang developed in Taoism.

Eqilibre

taiji quan & nei gong

" Calme comme la montagne, mouvant comme le fleuve et la rivière "

Stacks Image 1038

Qu'est-ce que le taiji quan ?

Le taiji quan [tai chi chuan] (1) appartient à la grande famille des arts martiaux chinois, et plus précisément au courant appelé « école interne du poing »(nei jia quan), d’inspiration taoïste. L’expression taiji quan est couramment traduite par « poing – ou boxe – (quan) du faîte (ji) suprême (tai) », en référence à la poutre faîtière de la maison, symbole du principe premier, universel et omniprésent dans le taoïsme. Dans le même esprit, on peut aussi traduire l’expression par « poing de la polarité suprême », la notion de « pôle », lieu de cette polarité suprême, renvoyant à l’instant où yin et yang sont encore unis.

Bien éloigné de la simple « gymnastique douce » hélas parfois enseignée tant en Occident qu’en Chine, le taiji quan est un des arts martiaux les plus riches et les plus puissants, en ce qu’il privilégie l’utilisation du souffle vital qi [chi], par rapport à la force musculaire li, qui lui est en quelque sorte subordonnée. Et pour diriger et utiliser correctement le qi, le pratiquant fera appel à l’intention yi. Ainsi, par l’utilisation harmonieuse de ces trois composants, qi, li et yi, le taiji quan est un art de vie complet :
calligraphietaiji

• Il constitue un excellent exercice de santé, qui peut être pratiqué à tous les âges, car il sollicite de manière douce et efficace l’ensemble du corps – muscles et articulations –, développe l’énergie vitale, diminue le stress grâce au travail de relâchement qu’il nécessite, apaise et clarifie le mental par la concentration qu’il implique.
• C’est un art martial non violent, non agressif, en harmonie avec les lois naturelles. Privilégiant l’énergie vitale plutôt que les muscles, il est efficace quels que soient l’âge et la force physique.
• L’application des principes du taiji quan dans la vie relationnelle permet de désamorcer la plupart des conflits en réagissant correctement face aux agressions verbales et psychologiques.
• Pour ceux qui le désirent, le taiji quan peut prendre la forme d’une voie spirituelle, basée sur les enseignements des grands maîtres taoïstes tels Lao Zi et Zhuang Zi.

La forme la plus courante du taiji quan se pratique à mains nues. Il s’agit d’enchaîner un certain nombre – variable selon les écoles – de mouvements codifiés d’attaque et de défense.
Parallèlement à l'exécution de cette routine, le pratiquant s'exerce au travail avec partenaire (tests, applications martiales,...), ainsi qu'au maniement des armes traditionnelles telles l'épée, le sabre, ou encore la lance.


Un peu d'histoire
Le style Yang (2) enseigné dans notre école fut créé par Yang Luchan (1799 -1872), combattant redoutable, surnommé « l’invincible ».
Après sa mort, son art se transmit de génération en génération au sein de la famille Yang. D’abord limité aux seuls membres de la famille et à quelques disciples choisis, l’enseignement se démocratisa peu à peu, sous des formes plus ou moins simplifiées. C’est ainsi qu’à côté de l’art traditionnel de Yang Luchan et de ses héritiers, on trouve aujourd’hui différents styles, de qualités très variables.

L’enseignement dispensé dans notre école se veut fidèle au style traditionnel préservé au sein de la famille Yang. Il s’enracine dans la pratique de grands maîtres de la lignée, dont Yang Shao Hou (1862-1930), Zheng Manqing [Cheng Manching] (1902-1975) et Huang Xingxian [Huang Sheng Shyan] (1910-1992). Aujourd’hui, cet enseignement est diffusé dans le monde par maître (shifu) Adam Mizner.

lignée hme
De gauche à droite : Zheng Manqing, Huang Xingxian et Adam Mizner. (DR / HME)


Notre enseignement
Nous enseignons le style traditionnel de la famille Yang. On distingue :

Le nei gong
Sous ce terme très général sont regroupés toute une série de travaux portant sur l’énergie interne. Ils sont inséparables de l’apprentissage du taiji quan. Nous pratiquons :
• des exercices d’échauffement (ji ben gong) et de relâchement (song shen wu fa),
• des travaux portant sur les postures (zhan zhuang) et l’énergie (qi gong).

Le taiji quan

Nous pratiquons :
• un enchaînement lent à mains nues de 37 mouvements,
• le maniement du sabre et de l’épée,
• des exercices avec partenaire : enchaînement (da lu), « mains collantes » ou « poussée des mains » (tui shou), tests d’efficacité et applications martiales.
Vos professeurs se rencontrent régulièrement dans un but d’enrichissement mutuel, et participent chaque année à des séminaires internationaux, garantissant ainsi la pérennité d’un taiji quan authentique.



1: Il existe plusieurs manières de transcrire les caractères chinois. Nous adoptons le système de romanisation pinyin (nous vous faisons grâce des accents toniques), qui est le plus « officiel » et le plus répandu actuellement. Les anciennes transcriptions les plus courantes sont indiquées entre crochets [].
2: « Yang » est ici un nom de famille (par ailleurs fort répandu en Chine), qui n’a rien à voir avec les concepts de yin et de yang développés dans le taoïsme.